The Contributors

William J. Baumol is Professor of economics at New York University, and senior research economist and professor emeritus at Princeton University. The author of more than 35 books and hundreds of professional articles, he has been president of the American Economic Association and three other professional organizations. His fields of specialization include economic growth, entrepreneurship and innovation, industrial organization, antitrust economics and regulation, and economics of the arts. Among his recent publications is The Free-Market Innovation Machine: Analyzing the Growth Miracle of Capitalism.

Andrew Eckert is Assistant Professor of Economics at the University of Alberta. Before joining the University of Alberta, he was a staff economist at the Competition Bureau. His research focuses on issues in industrial organization and law and economics. He has studied the theory and empirical evidence regarding price volatility in retail gasoline markets, and examined predatory pricing policy regarding airlines. His current research looks at patterns of exit by firms from spatial markets, and the harmonization of international environmental law.

Paul A. Grout is Professor of Political Economy at the University of Bristol and Director of the Market Organisation and Regulation Programme of the Leverhulme Centre for Market and Public Organisation He has published extensively on regulation, privatisation, competition policy, industrial organisation, and delivery of public services by the public and private sector. Current research interests include analysis of: planned obsolescence, public private partnerships, promoting competition in the presence of essential facilities, various aspects of EU competition policy, empirical studies of the behaviour of competition authorities and the impact of political interference on stability of enterprises. He has advised many government bodies and major companies and on regulation and competition policy.

Gunnar Niels is Managing Consultant and head of the Competition team at OXERA, Oxford, an economics consultancy specialised in competition policy and regulation. He has advised numerous companies during competition law proceedings in Brussels, the UK and other jurisdictions. Before joining OXERA in May 1999, Gunnar was deputy head of the Economics Directorate at Mexico´s Federal Competition Commission. He has published several articles on predatory pricing and other competition and trade issues in journals such as the Antitrust Bulletin, European Competition Law Review, Competition Law Journal, Journal of Economic Surveys and Journal of World Trade.

Adriaan ten Kate is theoretical physicist from the Free University of Amsterdam (1966). PhD in economics from Erasmus University Rotterdam (1983). Published several books and a host of articles about physics, linear programming, input-output analysis, trade policy and industrial organization, among other fields. Worked for fifteen years in the Mexican Ministry of Foreign Trade and Industrial Development. Participated in the negotiation of the Northamerican Free Trade Agreement. Since 1995 Chief Economist of the Mexican Competition Commission. ELO rating of 2180 from the International Chess Federation.

Douglas S. West is Professor of Economics in the Department of Economics, University of Alberta at Edmonton, where he has been teaching economics since 1981. He received a Ph.D. in Economics from the University of British Columbia in 1979 and a B.A. from the University of Michigan in 1975. His fields of research and teaching include industrial organization, competition policy, spatial competition analysis, and urban economics. He has published papers on market preemption, predation, vertical restraints, competition in shopping centre, retail gasoline, and video store industries, and the economic effects of privatizing liquor retailing in Alberta. Professor West has worked in a consulting capacity on competition matters for a variety of private firms and public agencies, including Caterpillar Tractor Co., the Canadian Competition Bureau, the Capital Health Authority in Edmonton, and the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission.


Last updated: