Organisation

The Swedish Competition Authority is divided into seven departments and four units.

The organisation of the Swedish Competition Authority 


Director General

Director General: Rikard Jermsten

Management team

The management team comprises the Director General, the Deputy Director General and all the Directors of departments.

Administrative Department

This Department is responsible for finance, human resources, IT and internal services.

Acting Director:
Stefan Jönsson, tel. +46-8-700 15 95,

Department for communications and international affairs

The department is responsible for external and internal communications, publications and press. The department is also responsible for the Authority's overall management function of external tip-offs and enquiries.

The Department is responsible for the coordination and quality assurance of cooperation with foreign authorities and organisations within the field of competition and procurement.

Director and Deputy Director General:
Karin Lunning, tel. +46-8-700 16 42, karin.lunning@kkv.se

Press Officer:
Jimmy Dominius, tel. +46-8-700 15 80, jimmy.dominius@kkv.se

Manager for tip-offs:
Martin Bäckström, tel. +46-8-700 15 58, martin.backstrom@kkv.se

Manager for communication:
Åsa Lövström, tel. +46-8-700 16 36, asa.lovstrom@kkv.se

Manager for international affairs:
Graeme Jarvie, tel. +46-8-700 15 34, graeme.jarvie@kkv.se

Legal Department

This Department represents the Swedish Competition Authority at court and is responsible for legal analyses. The Department is also responsible for the Authority’s internal legal matters and the registry.

Chief Legal Officer and Director:
Marie Östman, tel. +46-8-700 15 44, marie.ostman@kkv.se

Deputy Head of Department:
Tove Kockum, tel. +46-8-700 16 77, tove.kockum@kkv.se

Chief Economist’s Department

This Department is responsible for economic analysis. The Department is also responsible for research.

Chief Economist and Director:
Arvid Fredenberg, tel. +46-8-700 15 41,

Deputy Chief economist:
Sven-Olof Fridolfsson, tel. +46-8-700 15 33, sven-olof.fridolfsson@kkv.se

Advocacy Department 

This Department is responsible for analysing, follow up and evaluate all areas of activities within the Swedish Competition Authority. The department is also responsible for coordinating and managing responses to official consultations and other government mandates.

Director: 
Johan Hedelin, tel. +46-8-700 15 31,

Public Procurement Enforcement Department (AU)

The department is responsible for the Competition Authority's supervision in the procurement area.

Public Procurement Unit – General Supervision (AU1)

The unit works with surveillance in accordance with the Public Procurement Act, the Act on procurement of water, energy, transport and postal services and the Defense and Security Procurement Act. The unit also works with surveillance in relation to various acts on systems of choice, such as for example the Act on System on Choice.

Head of Unit:
Ann Fryksdahl, tel. +46-8-700 16 87,

Deputy Head of Unit:
Magnus Johansson, tel. +46-8-700 15 07, magnus.johansson@kkv.se

Public Procurement Unit – Fines (AU2)

The unit is responsible for supervisory activities with focus on illegal direct award of contracts. Cases are prepared and brought to an administrative court requesting the imposition of a procurement fine on contracting authorities/entities that have conducted an illegal direct award of contracts.

Head of Unit: 
Malin de Jounge, tel. +46-8-700 15 86,

Deputy Head of Unit:
Mattias Berger, tfn 08-700 15 57, mattias.berger@kkv.se

Competition Enforcement Department (AK)

The department is responsible for the Competition Authority's supervision in the area of competition.

Director:
Hanna Witt, tel. +46-8-700 16 44,

Cartels and Mergers Unit (AK1)

This unit is responsible for detecting and investigating horizontal anti-competitive agreements, as well as for merger control.

Head of Unit:
Göran Karreskog, tel. +46-8-700 16 74,

Manager for merger control:
Maria Ulfvensjö Baltatzis, tel. +46-8-700 16 54,

Market Abuse Unit (AK2)

The work at this unit is focused on preventing abuse of dominant positions as well as interventions against anti-competitive agreements between undertakings at different levels in the supply chain. The unit is responsible for surveillance activities within the field of competition neutrality. The Swedish Competition Authority may intervene when municipalities, county councils or the central government are carrying out sales activities which distort or impede competition. The unit is also responsible for surveillance activities under the Transparency Act.

Head of Unit:
Martin Mandorff, tel. +46-8-700 15 53,

Deputy Head of Unit:
Johan Sahl, tel. +46-8-700 16 22, johan.sahl@kkv.se

Manager for competition neutrality:
Katarina Magnusson, tel. +46-8-700 16 43, katarina.magnusson@kkv.se

Councils affiliated to the Competition Authority

Council for Research Issuses

The task of the Council for Research Issues is to stimulate research in the area of competition and procurement and to participate when assessing which research projects should receive support from the Swedish Competition Authority.

Secretary of the Council for Research Issues:
Joakim Wallenklint, research manager, tel. +46-8-700 16 03,

Related information

Last updated: