Organisation

The Swedish Competition Authority is divided into ten units.

Organisation chart - The Swedish Competition Authority is divided into ten units

Director General

Director General: Rikard Jermsten

Support for the Director General
Deputy Director General: Karin Lunning
Chief Development Officer: Hanna Witt
Chief Economist: Arvid Fredenberg
Chief Legal Officer: Marie Östman

Communications and IT Unit

The unit is responsible for external and internal communications, publications and press. The unit is also responsible for the Authority's overall management function of external tip-offs and enquiries and for the IT-support in the organisation.

Acting Head of Unit:
Hanna Witt, tel. +46-8-700 16 44,

Press Officer:
Jimmy Dominius, tel. +46-8-700 15 80, jimmy.dominius@kkv.se

Tip-offs and Complaints Director:
Martin Bäckström, tel. +46-8-700 15 58, martin.backstrom@kkv.se

Communications Director: 
Åsa Lövström, tel. +46-8-700 16 36, asa.lovstrom@kkv.se

IT Director:
Andreas Norén, tel. +46-8-700 15 88, andreas.noren@kkv.se

Legal and International Affairs Unit

The unit is responsible for the Authority’s internal legal matters and the registry and for issues related to procurement and purchasing for the Swedish Competition Authority.

The unit is also responsible for the coordination and quality assurance of cooperation with foreign authorities and organisations within the field of competition and procurement.

Acting Head of Unit: 
Karin Lunning, tel. +46-8-700 16 42, karin.lunning@kkv.se

International Affairs Director::
Louise Petrelius, tel. +46-8-700 15 71, louise.petrelius@kkv.se

Administrative Unit

The unit is responsible for internal services, human resources and finance.

Acting Head of Unit: 
Tove Kockum, tel. +46-8-700 16 77, tove.kockum@kkv.se

Human Resources Director:
Karin Alling, tel. +46-8-700 15 08, karin.alling@kkv.se

Internal Services Director:
Marie Hellman, tel. +46-8-700 16 25, marie.hellman@kkv.se

Financial Director:
Adam Sandberg, tel. +46-8-700 16 96, adam.sandberg@kkv.se

Advocacy and Research Unit

The unit is responsible for coordinating and managing responses to official consultations and other government mandates. The unit is also responsible for identifying obstacles to effective competition and effective public procurement, submitting proposals for improvement, and following developments within the Swedish Competition Authority's areas of responsibility. The unit is also responsible for stimulating research in the areas of competition and public procurement.

Acting Head of Unit:
Stefan Jönsson, tel. +46-8-700 15 95,

Research Director:
Joakim Wallenklint, tel. +46-8-700 16 03,

Cartels and Mergers Unit

This unit is responsible for detecting and investigating horizontal anti-competitive agreements, as well as for merger control.

Head of Unit:
Göran Karreskog, tel. +46-8-700 16 74,

Deputy Head of Unit:
Pia Ödqvist, tel. +46-8-700 15 81, pia.odqvist@kkv.se

Merger Control Director:
Maria Ulfvensjö Baltatzis, tel. +46-8-700 16 54,

Market Abuse Unit

The work at this unit is focused on preventing abuse of dominant positions as well as intervening against anti-competitive agreements between undertakings at different levels in the supply chain. The unit is responsible for surveillance activities within the field of competition neutrality. The unit is also responsible for surveillance activities under the Transparency Act.

Head of Unit:
Martin Mandorff, tel. +46-8-700 15 53,

Deputy Head of Unit:
Johan Sahl, tel. +46-8-700 16 22, johan.sahl@kkv.se

Competition Neutrality Director:
Katarina Magnusson, tel. +46-8-700 16 43, katarina.magnusson@kkv.se

Illegal Direct Awards Unit

The unit works to counteract illegal direct awards of contracts. The unit investigates, among other things, cases aiming to obligate contracting authorities/entities to pay a so-called procurement fine.

Head of Unit: 
Malin de Jounge, tel. +46-8-700 15 86,

Deputy Head of Unit:
Mattias Berger, tel. +46-8-700 15 57, mattias.berger@kkv.se

General Procurement Supervision Unit

The work at this unit is focused on public procurement surveillance that do not concern illegal direct awards of contracts.

Head of Unit:
Ann Fryksdahl, tel. +46-8-700 16 87,

Deputy Head of Unit:
Magnus Johansson, tel. +46-8-700 15 07, magnus.johansson@kkv.se

Litigation Unit

The unit represents the Swedish Competition Authority in court and is responsible for legal quality assurance.

Chief Legal Officer and Head of Unit:
Marie Östman, tel. +46-8-700 15 44, marie.ostman@kkv.se

Deputy Head of Unit:
Tove Kockum, tel. +46-8-700 16 77, tove.kockum@kkv.se

Chief Economist’s Unit

The unit is responsible for quality assurance of the economic analysis in the Swedish Competition Authority's cases.

Chief Economist and Head of Unit:
Arvid Fredenberg, tel. +46-8-700 15 41,

Deputy Head of Unit:
Sven-Olof Fridolfsson, tel. +46-8-700 15 33, sven-olof.fridolfsson@kkv.se

Councils affiliated to the Competition Authority

Research Council

The task of the Research Council is to stimulate research in the areas of competition and procurement and to participate when assessing which research projects should receive support from the Swedish Competition Authority..

Secretary of the Research Council:
Joakim Wallenklint, Research Director, tel. +46-8-700 16 03,

Related information

Last updated: